St. Cloud State University places first in the 2016 Minnesota Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition

St. Cloud State University places first in the 2016 Minnesota Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition

Congratulations to St. Cloud State University for winning the 2016 Minnesota State Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition March 5

Advance IT Minnesota is happy to announce a thrilling conclusion to this year’s CCDC which saw St. Cloud State University finish first, re-claiming the crown after a gap of four years.  In its second year in the competition, Metropolitan State University once again finished second, with Minnesota State University Mankato coming in third. This represents a clean sweep by the three universities competing in the event, which had been dominated by Lake Superior College the past two years.

Many kudos to the coaches who have put in countless hours – Tirthankar Ghosh and Ben Pratt at St. Cloud State, Faisal Kaleem at Metropolitan State, and Brad Ammerman and Sarah Kruse at MSU Mankato.

The Minnesota CCDC, in its 11th year, is an annual opportunity for colleges and universities to test the cybersecurity and information technology knowledge of students

Six 2-year colleges and three universities competed this year (including a guest college from Wisconsin) in this intense, day-long battle pitching student teams against incessant cyber-attacks by a team of security professionals across Minnesota, while concurrently meeting business needs in this replication of IT environments today.

Advance IT Minnesota and the Minnesota Cyber Careers Consortium, a network of industry leaders and educators, are happy to bring these teams together this year with assistance from the Center for Systems Security and Information Assurance (CSSIA) in Illinois and hosting support of Alexandria Technical and Community College and Minneapolis Community and Technical College.

The top three Minnesota teams will be recognized at the Secure360 conference on May 18, 2016. St. Cloud State will next compete in the 2016 Midwest Regional CCDC at Moraine Valley Community College, Illinois, on April 1-2, 2016. The Midwest Regional CCDC winner will be competing at the 2015 National CCDC in San Antonio, Texas, on April 22-24, 2016.


Alexandria Technical and Community College
Century College
Inver Hills Community College
Lake Superior College
Metropolitan State University
Minneapolis Community and Technical College

Minnesota State Community and Technical College
St. Cloud State University
St. Cloud Technical & Community College
Minnesota State University, Mankato