Teacher Honorees – 2021 Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards

Teacher Honorees – 2021 Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards

The Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards (MNAiC) program is proud to announce the 2021 class of Educator Honorees. 

Minnesota’s 2021 Aspirations Educators will also be recognized at the ceremonies.

  • Honorable Mention Recipient:
    • Jen Danielson of Roseville Area Schools
  • Minnesota Aspirations Educator of the Year:
    • Ryan Lindsay of St. Louis County Schools at Northeast Range School in Babbitt, MN

Thank you to the numerous other educators who endorsed students and will be in attendance to cheer on their students and colleagues.

On behalf of the National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT), and the impressive array of sponsors and partners, the Minnesota State IT Center of Excellence congratulates the award recipients for their outstanding enthusiasm for teaching and encouraging interests in technology and computer science.


Meet the 2021 Minnesota Aspirations for Women in Computing Educator Honorees

2021 Minnesota Aspirations in Computing - Educator State Winner

Ryan Lindsay

Teacher at St. Louis County Schools at Northeast Range School in Babbitt, MN

Ryan Lindsay teaches for St. Louis County Schools at Northeast Range School in Babbitt, MN. Currently teaching Computer Science and Career and Technical classes, he has taught science and library media in the past. He holds a bachelor’s in genetics from the University of Wisconsin – Madison which led to work in a biochemistry lab at Baylor College of Medicine and one summer training high school students in the lab. Something clicked while working with youth and it developed into a Master’s in Teaching from Western Washington University. He spent one year teaching science in Anacortes, WA, before settling down in Northern Minnesota. In addition to teaching, he mentors a FIRST Robotics Competition team and helps with professional development for Mobile Computer Science Principles through Southwest Minnesota State. He currently lives in Ely, MN, and tries to keep pace with his wife and three daughters.

2021 Minnesota Educator Honorable Mention Award

Jen Danielson

Teacher at Roseville Area Schools

Jen Danielson is a math and computer science teacher at Roseville Area Schools, teaching at the middle and high school levels.  She graduated from the University of St. Thomas with degrees in Economics and Business Management and received her M.Ed from the University of Minnesota in Business Education.  She began her teaching career in Japan and made her way back home to Minnesota.  Her goal is to introduce students to computer science early in middle school and help them pursue their interests beyond high school.  She loves teaching in a subject area that allows her to continue to find and learn new technology skills along with her students.

View The Student Honorees

Rising Stars

Event Sponsor - Minnesota Twins

Aspirations in Computing Awards Honorees

Virtual Ceremony April 14, 6:30-7:45pm

Certificate of Distinction Honorees

Event Sponsor - General Mills

Special Thanks to our Educator Endorsers

The following people provided support and endorsement to one or more of the selected award honorees. On behalf of the National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT), the Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Award Committee, the honorees and their families, we wish to acknowledge and express our appreciation for the education and career readiness support they’ve provided.

Rebecca Akerson
Brittany Anderson
Robert Anderson
Nick Bahr
John Bartucz
Rachel Bausman
Jennifer Birkmeier
Holly Boisjolie
Shannon Braun
Jessica Breed
Anne Cardenas
Wendy Clark
Amy Collura
Lara Dale
Jennifer Danielson
Hamsitha Dontamsetty
Cindy Drahos
Brian Fendrich
Janelle Field
Jan Finazzo
Andy Fisher

Pegge Fox
Maddy Frawley
Maria Gini
Leonardo Gomez
Jeremy Graves
Raquel Gudiel
Hayley Guevara
Derek Haidle
Megan Hall
Emily Helzer
Katie Hendricksen
Katie Hessen
Teresa Hichens-Olson
Linh Hoang
Pam Hockenberry
Kevin Hohn
Cheri Howe
Joe Huber
Siva Jasthi
Michael Jensen

Andrew Kastenberg
Kati Kragtorp
Tika Kude
Melissa Kuhl-Schuehle
Norton Lam
Leah Lencowski
John Licciardi
Ryan Lindsay
Kate Lockwood
Wade Logeais
Amanda Mackereth
Cheryl Martin
Kelly Martin
Jennifer Moore
Randy Niemiec
Natasha Olsonawski
Julie Onken
Nancy Poulos

Elise Rave
Thomas Reinartz
Donna Roemen
Heather Rosemann
Audra Rudys
Kyle Schroeder
Shannon Seaver
Abram Shapiro
Kristin Shively
Jesse Sirovy
Jaime Smoody
David Sobolewski
Jason Stoeke
Matthew Thibodeau
Thomas Totushek
Heidi Tousignant
Tim Wahl
Alice Wilson
Keo Xiong


2020-2021 Sponsors & Partners

We are especially grateful to our financial sponsors who provide funding for year-round Aspirations and SPARCS programming for award honorees, as well as, hundreds of young women from Minnesota secondary schools.

2020-21 sponsors are:

Target, SPS Commerce, Land O’Lakes, Stoneridge Software, Optum, General Mills, STEM Fuse, Veritas Technologies, Minnesota Twins, Three Bridge Solutions, NCWIT, Unisys, Securian, Prime Therapeutics, ISSA, Thomson Reuters