2021 Certificate of Distinction Honorees – Aspirations in Computing

2021 Certificate of Distinction Honorees – Aspirations in Computing

The National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT) has selected 43 Certificate of Distinction Honorees with strong scores, as evidenced by their outstanding engagement in a variety of technology and leadership experiences provided by their high school, community partners, and through online learning experiences.


Special thanks to General Mills for hosting and leading an exclusive learning and recognition event on Saturday, April 24th for the 2021 Certificate of Distinction honorees.

The Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards Committee congratulates the following 43 young women from Minnesota High Schools for being recognized as a Certificate of Distinction Honoree.

Anoka High School

  • Salma Urrutia, Senior

Blaine High School

  • Elena Que, Senior

Breck School, Golden Valley

  • Trisha Samba, Sophomore

Burnsville High School

  • Julia Osmolski, Freshman

  • Zakia Essa, Junior

Century High School, Rochester

  • Franziska Rinkleff, Sophomore

  • Ann Scripture, Senior

Convent of the Visitation School, Mendota Heights

  • Noelle Wang, Senior

Coon Rapids High School

  • Zabibu Rukia, Senior

Cristo Rey Jesuit High School, Minneapolis

  • Danyanara Rivera Dorantes, Senior

Eagan High School

  • Clare Dixon, Sophomore

  • Morgan Madsen, Senior

  • Saanvi Malhotra, Senior

Eastview High School, Apple Valley

  • Ria Koppikar, Junior

Eden Prairie High School

  • Priyanka Kopuru, Junior

Edina High School

  • Preeti Priyadarshini, Junior

  • Elizabeth Glieden, Junior

Edison High School, Minneapolis

  • Nasteho Abdi, Senior

Fertile-Beltrami Secondary

  • Abby Fuglseth, Senior

Higher Ground Academy, St. Paul

  • Anisa Ismael, Junior

  • Asha Abdi, Senior

John Marshall High School, Rochester

  • Lucy Rubin, Senior

  • Alexandra Rolli, Senior

Minnetonka High School

  • Maya Moy, Senior

Mounds View High School

  • Gwendolyn Brandt, Sophomore

  • Jennie Cheng, Senior

  • Leigha Wood, Sophomore

North Woods School, Cook

  • Katrina Jackson, Junior

Open World Learning Community, St. Paul

  • Isabella Graziani, Senior

Patrick Henry High School, Minneapolis

  • Ayub Osman, Senior

Rosemount High School

  • Tanvi Adige, Senior

  • Erin Doss-Johnson, Senior

  • Charley Hatterman, Junior

  • Bella Johnson, Junior

  • Gabrielle Ruth, Junior

  • Chelsea Stoner, Senior

Saint Anthony Village High School

  • Beatirz Arias, Junior

South High School, Minneapolis

  • Nixie Trierweiler, Senior

Spring Lake Park High School

  • Megan Mulrooney, Senior

St. Louis Park High School

  • Natashia Johannes, Junior

  • Faduma Mohamed, Junior

Totino-Grace High School, Fridley

  • Reema Ibrahim, Junior

Woodbury High School

  • Megan Rands, Senior


Rising Stars

Top-Tier Award Recipients

Teacher Honorees

For more information about the Aspirations in Computing Awards program visit:  Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards

Definition of Award Designations

Every applicant is eligible to receive awards at both the National and Regional Affiliate tiers. The Award levels for 2020-21 include:

National Awards

  • Winner: Highest-achieving students selected to represent the rich diversity of applicants. Prior National Award Winners may not win this award more than once.

  • Honorable Mention: High-achieving students selected to represent the rich diversity of applicants.

  • Certificate of Distinction (CoD): Students who merit recognition and entry into the AiC Community.

Regional Affiliate Awards

  • Winner: Students who have significantly demonstrated interest and aptitude for computing.

  • Honorable Mention: Students who have demonstrated interest and aptitude for computing.

  • Rising Star: Students who may be starting out in their pursuit and study of computing. Rising Stars embody the idea of aspirations and are encouraged to continue their exploration of the field.

Taken From: Click Here For More Info


2021-2020 Program Sponsors & Partners

We are especially grateful to our financial sponsors who provide funding for year-round Aspirations and SPARCS programming for award honorees, as well as, hundreds of young women from Minnesota secondary schools.

MNAiC financial sponsors:

Target, SPS Commerce, Land O’Lakes, Optum, General Mills, STEM Fuse, Veritas Technologies, Minnesota Twins, National Center for Women and Information Technology, Unisys, Stoneridge Software, Prime Therapeutics, Information Systems Security Association, and Securian.