2019 Aspirations in Computing Certificate of Distinction and Rising Star Honorees

2019 Aspirations in Computing Certificate of Distinction and Rising Star Honorees

The Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards Committee congratulates 65 young women from Minnesota High Schools for being recognized as a Certificate of Distinction or Rising Star Honoree

The National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT) selected 45 Certificate of Distinction Honorees whose scores were relatively strong, as evidenced by their engagement in a variety of technology and leadership experiences offered in their high school and community.

The Minnesota Aspirations committee also selected 20 Rising Star Honorees who demonstrated engagement in a mixture of technology education and leadership experiences, showing strong promise to be successful pursuing a technology education and career path.

We encourage all the young women being recognized to become engaged with one of our many Aspirations partners through the summer 2019 job shadow program and to continue their STEM learning in high school and college.

Apple Valley High School

  • Lisa Lee, Junior

Apollo High School – St. Cloud

  • Amber Moon, Senior
  • Zoe Venske, Sophomore *

Breck School – Golden Valley

  • Elizabeth Berman, Junior
  • Samantha Detor, Junior
  • Caroline Pirtle, Freshman *
  • Abigail Schaus, Junior

Burnsville High School

  • Alexis Bunnell, Sophomore *
  • Siri Erickson-Green, Junior
  • Jayden Farah, Sophomore *
  • Kathleen Fritz, Junior
  • Kelly Wilson, Senior

DeLaSalle High School – Minneapolis

  • Michelle Cortes Dominguez

Eagan High School

  • Ashley Chen, Sophomore *
  • Lauren Ferg, Senior
  • Mikayla Joa, Sophomore
  • Livvy Johnson, Junior
  • Uma Parhar, Senior
  • Rani Shah, Junior

East Ridge High School – Woodbury

  • Athena Roscoe, Junior *
  • Minerva Roscoe, Junior

Eastview High School – Apple Valley

  • Fatima Altaf, Senior
  • Harita Duggirala, Junior
  • Akansha Kamineni, Sophomore

Eden Prairie High School

  • Neha Bhupatiraju, Senior
  • Ngawang Namru, Sophomore *
  • Farida Mohammed, Senior

Edina High School

  • Bella Boeckenstedt, Junior
  • Sofie Shand, Senior
  • Sarah Swann, Sophomore *
  • Maggie Tian, Junior

Gateway to College – St. Paul

  • Solea Price, Junior *

Highland Park High School – St. Paul

  • Ellen Wegner, Senior

Humboldt High School – St. Paul

  • Shyria Pearson, Freshman *

International School of Minnesota – Eden Prairie

  • Rucha Batchu, Junior

John Marshall High School, Rochester

  • Wendy Sun, Junior

Kennedy High School – Bloomington

  • Samrawit Gebregziabher, Senior

Lincoln High School – Thief River Falls

  • Kyri Christensen, Junior

Maple Grove Senior High School

  • Amulya Maripally, Senior

Math and Science Academy – Woodbury

  • Alayna Tan, Freshman *

Mayo High School – Rochester

  • Kajsa Arnold, Sophomore *
  • Renna Hintermeister, Senior

Open World Learning Community – St. Paul

  • Fiona Shyne, Senior

Prior Lake High School

  • Brielle Anderson, Sophomore
  • Claire Palmer, Junior

Rosemount High School

  • Madison Bailey, Senior
  • Katelyn Dwyer, Junior
  • Sydney Essler, Senior
  • Regan Hansen, Junior
  • Jocelyn Hester, Senior
  • Diana Juynh, Junior
  • Kaitlin McKenzie, Junior
  • Nina Pham, Senior

Roseville Area High School

  • Alexandra Rauer, Sophomore *

South High School – Minneapolis

  • Sarah Ali, Sophomore *
  • Sylvie Rainville, Sophomore

Southwest High School – Minneapolis

  • Georgia Rinkleff-Duma, Freshman *

Spring Lake Park High School

  • Lily Yang, Senior

Stewartville High School

  • Payton Maas, Junior *

Totino-Grace High School – Fridley

  • Anna Heebsh, Junior *

Tracy High School

  • Marissa Johnson, Freshman *

Waseca High School

  • Sara Kohler, Sophomore

Wellstone International High School – Minneapolis

  • Kowsar Rage, Senior

White Bear Lake High School

  • Ariel Carter, Senior *

Winona High School

  • Nicole Miller, Sophomore *


* Asterisk denotes Rising Star Recipient

In addition to the 65 Aspirations Honorees noted above, an additional 37 honorees were selected as national and state winners and honorable mention recipients.  For more information about the Aspirations in Computing Awards program visit: Announcement of the 2019 Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards Honorees

2018-19 Aspirations in Computing Award Sponsors:

Target, Land O’Lakes, Maverick Software Consulting, SPS Commerce, Upper Midwest Security Alliance, Trimble, Minnesota Twins, Anita Borg, AVI Systems, Cray, Code42, Collective.ly Digital, General Mills, HelpSystems, Merrill Corporation, Metropolitan State – Institute for Professional Development, Microsoft, STEM Fuse, Stoneridge Software, Thomson Reuters, Twin Cities Chapter of the Association of Women in Computing, Unisys, Veritas Technologies,  College of St. Scholastica, Information Systems Security Association, LegacyArmour, Nerdery, Prime Therapeutics, Minnesota Computers for Schools,  Minnesota High Tech Association – Women Leading in Technology, Minnesota STEM Partnership