2018 Aspirations in Computing Award Highlights

2018 Aspirations in Computing Award Highlights

A huge thanks to all who attended the 2018 Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards Ceremony on April 17th! It was such a pleasure to recognize and celebrate some phenomenal young women in tech.

At this year’s ceremony, 35 young high school women from across Minnesota were recognized for their GRIT and achievements in technology. Along with being recognized, honorees were awarded prizes ranging from tech devices and scholarships to job shadowing and internship opportunities. Photos from the event are available to view on Flickr.

Teaching is a challenging job, which often takes a special kind of person. At this year’s event we recognize Minnesota Educator of the Year recipient Judith Roggow for igniting the computing interests of her students at DeLaSalle High School in Minneapolis, and Minnesota Educator Honorable Mention, Elizabeth Riggs for her exceptional work supporting immigrant female students’ interests in computing at Como Park High School, in St. Paul.

Last but not least, we are especially grateful to event volunteers, committee members,  Burnsville High School teacher Cindy Drahos, and her husband Jim, for their generous financial gift, as well as the 22 businesses and organizations who provided funding support which allows the scholarship program, and the SPARCS year-round program to flourish.

Learn more about how you can get involved with the Minnesota Aspirations in Computing program or contact contact Russell Fraenkel at (612) 659-7224 or Russell.Fraenkel@metrostate.edu with any inquiries.