Applications for 5th Annual Minnesota Aspirations for Women in Computing Awards

Applications for 5th Annual Minnesota Aspirations for Women in Computing Awards

Applications accepted online Sept. 1 through Nov. 7, 2016

St. PAUL – MINNEAPOLIS (Sept. 1, 2016)

What’s the best way to support the next generation of tech enthusiasts? Recognize their talent and encourage them to pursue their dreams. That’s the goal of the fifth annual Minnesota Aspirations in Computing Awards.

But first, these future tech stars need to be identified. Here’s why: While women today comprise more than half of the U.S. professional workforce, they play only a small role in inventing the technology of tomorrow.

To help address this gender and opportunity gap, and encourage young women interested in technology, Advance IT Minnesota is seeking young women in high schools across the state with emerging aspirations and accomplishments in technology, to apply for the Minnesota Aspirations for Women in Computing awards program online at Applications are being accepted through November 7th, 2016.

“Following a record setting year of success in finding and supporting Minnesota’s best and most passionate female techies, our goal with the awards program is to continue to inspire more young women to get involved in technology.”

–Russell Fraenkel, Advance IT Minnesota, Director of IT Career Pathways and Partnerships.

“Our workforce needs their creativity and innovation, and these women have a phenomenal opportunity to be the next generation of leaders and innovators in a rapidly growing field.”

Last year, the Minnesota awards program honored 30 winners and runners-up across the state for their computing-related achievements and interests, and an additional 22 young women received certificates of distinction. Additionally, one student was recognized at the national level.

The National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) created the award in 2007 to encourage the computing aspirations of young women, introduce them to leadership opportunities in the field and generate visibility for women’s participation in computing-related careers.

Awards will be made based on the interests, accomplishments, demonstrated leadership, and community involvement of young women in computing and technology-related activities. Prizes for the award winners include Minnesota State college and university scholarships, tech devices, cash rewards and paid internship opportunities at Minnesota businesses and organizations.

Students can submit applications for the award online at through Nov. 7th, 2016. Winners will be chosen in December 2016 and honored by sponsor partners at an April 2017 awards ceremony in Vadnais Heights, MN.

All Minnesota applicants will automatically be entered into the national awards program. National winners will be honored at the 2017 Bank of America Technology Stars of the Future Showcase in March 2017.

About National Center for Women & Information Technology

The National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) is a coalition of over 180 prominent corporations, academic institutions, government agencies, and non-profits working to improve U.S. innovation, competitiveness and workforce sustainability by increasing women’s participation in information technology (IT). To find out more, visit

Apply online

Application period ... Sept. 1 - Nov. 7 2016

Step 1: Visit the NCWIT website.

Step 2: Create a User Profile.

Step 3: Log in and apply.